Restaurants and bars may serve alcohol by the drink from 8 a.m. to 3 a.m. Mondays through Saturdays. On Sundays they may sell from 10 a.m. until 3 a.m. It’s illegal to sell alcoholic beverages on January First, the Fourth of July, Thanksgiving Day, and December 25th.
Is alcohol banned in Tennessee?
Tennessee ratified the 18th Amendment (National Prohibition) on January 13, 1919. Though it did not prohibit drinking alcohol, it outlawed its sale and distribution. The new constitutional amendment went into effect the following year. It was repealed in 1933 by the 21th Amendment.
Can you drink alcohol in public in Tennessee?
According to an analysis from Metro Council, Section 7.24. 040 of Metro Code currently bans people from “possessing any alcoholic beverage in an opened glass, aluminum, or metal container in an area generally open to the public unless the premises is licensed for on-premises consumption.”
Are there still dry counties in Tennessee?
In a “dry County”, the sale of alcohol and alcoholic beverages is prohibited or restricted – nine out of Tennessee’s 95 counties are completely dry.
Can you walk around with alcohol in Tennessee?
This open container law, T.C.A. 55-10-416, basically prohibits and/or states the following: The Tennessee Open Container Law is different from many states in that it only applies to the driver of a vehicle, not to the passengers. Passengers are free to consume alcoholic beverages if they are of legal drinking age.
Can I buy alcohol on Sunday in Tennessee?
You can now buy wine in many Tennessee grocery stores on Sundays. … The law aligns hours of wine sales with beer sales. That means liquor stores can sell alcoholic beverages between 10 a.m. and 11 p.m. on Sundays, unless otherwise defined by the jurisdiction.
Can you drink under 21 with a parent in Tennessee?
It is unlawful to serve, sell or permit the furnishing or selling of alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Minors may not frequent licensed establishments unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or are under the supervision of an adult over 25 years of age.
Can a passenger drink alcohol in a car in TN?
However, the “Open Container” law (T.C.A. 55-10-416) only applies to the driver of a motor vehicle, meaning that under Tennessee law it is perfectly legal for any passenger in a car to consume alcohol.
What time can I buy beer on Sunday in Tennessee 2020?
What time can I buy beer on Sunday in Tennessee 2020? Beer may be purchased at grocery stores, convenience stores, and gas stations on Monday through Saturday from 6 a.m. until midnight, and on Sunday from noon until midnight.
Is it legal to walk around with alcohol?
Drinking in public places–including sidewalks, parks, stadiums, and beaches–is considered illegal in most jurisdictions in the U.S. Penalties range from hundreds of dollars in fines to jail time.
Is Pigeon Forge a dry county?
Re: Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg… are they in a dry county? The answer to your question is yes. Pigeon Forge is a dry county. Some of the restruants do serve beer but no mixed drinks.
Can you buy alcohol past 11 in Tennessee?
Beginning January 1, 2019, retail food stores may only sell wine between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 11:00 P.M. on Monday through Saturday and between 10:00 A.M. and 11:00 P.M. on Sunday. A retail food store shall not sell wine on Christmas, Thanksgiving, or Easter.
Is Tennessee a good place to live?
Over the last 20 years, Tennessee has enjoyed an impressive rate of population growth. Low tax rates, living costs, and high quality of life have kept people on the move to Tennessee. It’s not a perfect place, but for the price, Tennessee is about as good as one can get.
Can you walk down the street with a case of beer?
Yes, assuming certain things are true. As another writer pointed out, alcohol laws vary from state to state and sometimes within states. If you are of legal age (21 and older in every state in the U.S.) then it is legal to carry a six pack as long as none of the containers have been opened.
Is it illegal to have open container in Tennessee?
Open Container Law (TCA 55-10-416) Drivers shall not consume or possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage or beer while operating a motor vehicle in Tennessee.
Can you walk around with alcohol in Gatlinburg?
Does anyone know if you can carry an alcoholic beverage on the streets in downtown Gatlinburg? That would be a no! Nope, not allowed.